Central District 2012 Best and Fairest Results

Central District Football Club's Best and Fairest Night was held on Saturday Night 20th October at Grand Central.

188 people attended the night to enjoy a 3 course meal and speeches. The Night culiminated with the video presentation count of the League Best and Fairest award - the Norm Russell Medal.

The list of awards recipients is as follows:

Winner of the Norm Russell Medal in 2012, for Centrals Best and Fairest Player was Bradley Symes, who polled 388 votes.
Symes also won this year's SANFL Magarey Medal (for the Fairest and Most Brilliant Player) in a tie with South Adelaide's Joel Cross.
Symes also collected CDFC's 2012 Most Consistent Award, donated by Bidvest Adelaide.

Runner Up was James Boyd with 338 votes. Boyd had a sensational year in 2012.
Vice-Captain Trent Goodrem was 3rd with 218 votes.
2012 Bob Quinn Medallist (for Best On Ground on ANZAC Day) Ryan Williams, was Centrals 2012 4th Best & Fairest player with 210 votes over the course of the season.
5th Best and Fairest and 2012 CDFC and League Leading Goalkicker (and SANFL Ken Farmer Medallist) was Justin Hardy.
Hardy polled 202 votes in the Best & Fairest count and kicked 58 goals in 2012.
CDFC Leading goalkicker award was donated by CDFC Past Players & Officials

6th in the Best and Fairest count was youngster Paul Marschall who polled 179 votes.
Marschall also took home the League Development Award for 2012, donated by Rivarly Urbanwear

Other awards presented as part of the League Awards were:

The League Incentive Award for 2012 awarded to Matthew Prior. Prior played a handful of League games and showed alot of promise. By winning the Reserves Best and Fairest there is no doubt he has put his hand up for a regular League spot in 2013.
League Incentive Award donated by Austral Meats and Konami Gaming.

The 2012 Coaches Award (donated by CDFC Past Players & Officials) was presented to Ruckman Jack Hannath
The 2012 Danny Hulm Memorial Trophy (for the Most Courageous Player in 2012) went to Jarrod Schiller.
The award donated by the Hulm Family and West End.
THE CDFC Reserves Premiership Team were presented on stage on Saturday Night and recognised as delivering the Club's first Premiership at Reserves level since 2003.

Reserves Awards were as follows:

Reserves Best & Fairest Matthew Prior - 86 votes
Donated by Alsco Linen Services, also the winner of the Hosking Family Perpetual Trophy
Runner-Up Best and Fairest (award donated by Adelaide Fruit & Veg Supplies) Josh Waldhuter,  - 62 votes
3rd in the Best & Fairest (trophy donated by Australian Liquor Marketers) Chad O'Sullivan - 41 votes
Coaches Award - donated by CDFC Past Players & Officials, was awarded to Josh Wittwer
The Reserves Incentive Award - donated by PFD Foods, went to Brock Castree
Captain Paul Thomas' 200 games was also recognised on the night with the presentation of the signed match ball from that game.
... and we also acknowledged the Gowans Twins on their retirement - 2 Absolute Legends of the Club!

To view a Gallery of Images from Best & Fairest Night click here

Brought to you by

smallcampaign-Holden-NEW2 smallcampaign-My-Money-House2 T shop Elizabeth Ingle Farm Munno Para Salisbury FL Munnoboomerang smaller smallcampaign-West-End-new

latest club news
AFL 9's Season

AFL 9’s is the fun, social, non-contact, 9-a-side version of the game we all love. It’s built for local legends! Read more on this

Shop highlight


We're a winning team at Centrals
We're the mighty fighting 'dogs
We love our Club and we play to win
Riding the bumps with a grin at Centrals

Come what may you'll find us striving
Teamwork is the thing that talks
One for all and all for one
Is the way we play at Centrals

We are the mighty fighting 'Dogs!



Membership Packages


read more

League ladder

  1. Norwood
  2. Eagles
  3. Sturt
  4. South Adelaide
  5. North Adelaide
  6. Glenelg
  7. West Adelaide
  8. Central District
  9. Port Adelaide
  10. Adelaide
Click to view detailed ladder

10 Goodman Road, Elizabeth SA 5112
PO Box 10 Elizabeth SA 5112
PH: 8255 2555
E: cdfc@cdfc.com.au

site by *nishnish