Centrals Indigenous Greats

Ahead of SANFL Indigenous Round this weekend, with the help of Club Historian Robert Laidlaw we have compiled a list of Indigenous Players to wear the Red, White and Blue of Centrals at League Level.

Many of them champion players, Club legends, and, in one way or another we're responsible for electrifying the Centrals Crowd.

The list includes Club Great Sonny Morey who was the first Central's player to reach the 200 game milestone. Morey was also named Coach and Back Pocket in the SANFL's Indigenous Team of the Ages selected in 2011. Alan Muir, Phil Graham and "the scud missile" Eddie Hocking are also featured. Magarey Medallist and host of the Marngrook Footy Show Gibert McAdam is part of the star-studded field along with Premiership players Eddie Sansbury (5 goals in 2003 Grand Final) and Elijah Ware. AFL Premiership Player Travis Varcoe came through the Central District Juniors and Fremantle's Michael Walters' father (also Michael Walters) played for Centrals in the 1980's. 300 AFL Game Player Michael O'Loughlin also played in the Underage sides at Centrals before being drafted to the Sydney Swans. 

Here is the list of players to play League Football for Centrals:

Sonny Morey  1964-77 (213 games/28 goals)
First kick in league footy for Central, first Bulldog to 200 games, State Player, Club Best & Fairest 1970.

Alan Muir 1967-70/72 (46/51)
Member of U17 premiership team in 1966.

Brenton Graham 1981/84 (10-1)
1978 Thomkin Medal.

Phil Graham  1978-89 (196/167)
To see an article and video click here

Eddie Hocking 1987-92 (91/80)
Progressed from Centrals to the Adelaide Crows (inaugural squad and team member)
Also West Adelaide.

Wilbur Wilson  1974-86 (171/331)
1973 Tomkins Medal. A Club legend.
To see a video click here

Adrian Wilson  2006/07 (37/13)
Wilbur's son.

Derek Kickett   1988 (25/48)
Played U19 premiership with Bulldogs in 1981 before heading to Western Australia.
Played one season of league at Central before joining Essendon in VFL.

Derek Sansbury 1999/2001 (6/0)
Brother of Eddie.

Eddie Sansbury 2003/2009-12 (98/98)
Premiership player in 2003, 2009/10
CDFC Best & Fairest (Norm Russell Medallist) 2011.

Robert Cummings 1992  (3-0)
Brother of Trent.

Trent Cummings 1992-93 (26-49)
Also played with Fitzroy and West Coast in VFL.

Shane Tongerie 1991-94 43/72
Progressed from Centrals to the Crows list.
Went to South Adelaide.

Gilbert McAdam 1988-90/98 86/92
1989 Magarey Medal and Club Best & Fairest.
Picked up by St Kilda (AFL). Also played for Brisbane (AFL)
Current co-host of the Marngrook Footy Show

Greg McAdam 1989  8/9
Older brother of Gilbert, came from North Adelaide.

Michael Walters 1985/86 7/8
Son plays for Fremantle.

Kevin Wanganeen 1976/77 (7/4)

Elijah Ware  2003-08 (81/93)
Premiership player 2004, 2007, 2008.
Was part of Port Powers list.

Alex Stengle 2006 (3/3)
Brother of Michael O'Loughlin (also a CDFC Junior Player and Australian Football Hall of Fame Member, first Sydney Swans player to 300 games)

Cameron Faulkner 2008 (8/1)

Jonathon Griffin 2006-10 (45/13)
Premiership player 2007.
Played AFL for Adelaide and currently at Fremantle.

Gary Rae  1975-76/78 (40/10)

Jason Rae  1996/98 (21/16)
Son of Gary, played for Eagles.

Travis Varcoe  2005 (2/1)
AFL Multiple Premiership Player with Geelong.
Currently at Collingwood (AFL)

Adam Cullen  2010/2014 (4/0)

Luke Barmby  2009-CURRENT

Wayne Milera Jnr  2015. (Drafted by Adelaide Crows - Current)

Isaya McKenzie - 2016-CURRENT

SANFL's Indigenous Team of the Ages, selected in 2011

F:               Roger Rigney (SFC)                       Daniel Motlop (NAFC)               Bertie Johnson (WAFC)
HF:         Michael Graham (SFC)                    Eddie Fry (SAFC, SFC)                  Richie Bray (PAFC)
C:            Michael Long (Eagles)                    Andrew McLeod (PAFC)                  Gilbert McAdam (CDFC)
HB:        Gavin Wanganeen (PAFC)               Wilfred “Wilbur” Wilson (CDFC)     Byron Pickett (PAFC)
B:            Graham Johncock (PAFC)              Corey Ah Chee (PAFC)           Sonny Morey (CDFC)
1R:          David Kantilla (SAFC)                   Shaun Burgoyne (PAFC)             Mark Naley (SAFC)
Int:         Aaron Davey (PAFC), Peter Burgoyne (PAFC), Derek Kickett (CDFC), Syd Jackson (GFC)
Res:         Fabian Francis (PAFC), Mathew Stokes (Eagles), Greg McAdam (NAFC)
Captain: McLeod                             
Vice Captain: Wanganeen
 Coach: Morey    

Footnote – The selection panel for the SANFL’s “Indigenous Team for the Ages” comprised the chief football writer at the Advertiser (and a selector in the AFL’s indigenous team of the century) Michelangelo Rucci; James Moore, the SANFL’s aboriginal employment and participation manager; AFL engagement and talent coordinator Andrew McLeod, APY Lands/Aboriginal development coordinator Tim Stewart, along with freelance photojournalist Peter Argent.

SANFL Indigenous Round is this weekend (July 16) in which Central District are at home to Sturt on Saturday Afternoon at 1:10pm.

Past Indigenous Players such as Sonny Morey, Phil Graham and Wilbur Wilson will be in attendance at the game and the home match luncheon

Brought to you by

latest club news
AFL 9's Season

AFL 9’s is the fun, social, non-contact, 9-a-side version of the game we all love. It’s built for local legends! Read more on this

Shop highlight


We're a winning team at Centrals
We're the mighty fighting 'dogs
We love our Club and we play to win
Riding the bumps with a grin at Centrals

Come what may you'll find us striving
Teamwork is the thing that talks
One for all and all for one
Is the way we play at Centrals

We are the mighty fighting 'Dogs!



Membership Packages


read more

League ladder

  1. Norwood
  2. Eagles
  3. Sturt
  4. South Adelaide
  5. North Adelaide
  6. Glenelg
  7. West Adelaide
  8. Central District
  9. Port Adelaide
  10. Adelaide
Click to view detailed ladder

10 Goodman Road, Elizabeth SA 5112
PO Box 10 Elizabeth SA 5112
PH: 8255 2555
E: cdfc@cdfc.com.au

site by *nishnish